Illegal Petes (inside)

A soundtrack for the nights you’re too proud to give in to your regrets, Automatic Iris is an American rock band from Denver, Colorado. The band’s original pop songs, drawing from indie rock, folk, new wave and alt-country, incorporate sweet harmonies, filthy distortion and occasional garage-rock freak outs. Each Automatic Iris performance includes tales of smart people making poor decisions, songs of heartbreak, geography and always… always… Science Minute with Courtney, a highly educational, strange but true scientific fact from our resident neuroscientist.

Songwriters Amanda Gonulsen and Michael Saul met in folk music school before going electric and subsequently getting expelled for distortion pedal abuse. In 2013 Amanda and Michael joined forces with multi-instrumentalist, songwriter and New Wave scholar Glenn Hermanson to form Automatic Iris. The full band features vocalist and multi-instrumentalist Courtney Wilson (formerly of The Belle Jar, The Far Stairs), and drummer Ryan Elwood (Natalie Walker, Voodoo Kings, Wonderlic).

Automatic Iris released their debut EP Escape Routes in May 2016.